The design for the two-euro commemorative coin dedicated to the 100th anniversary of the Baltic states will be chosen by a public vote

The design for the two-euro commemorative coin dedicated to the 100th anniversary of the Baltic...
  • The joint Baltic coin will be the first euro commemorative coin to be designed jointly by three countries
  • The two-euro coins with the special design will be issued by the central banks of the Baltic states in early 2018 and will be valid in all the countries of the euro area
  • Six different designs will be presented for the vote, with the central bank of each country submitting two designs
  • The identities and home countries of the designers will be kept anonymous during the vote
  • Voters can be entered in a prize draw with 100 prizes, and voting will continue until midnight on 5 April

Online voting started today for the people of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania to choose which design to use for the specially designed two-euro coin dedicated to the 100th anniversary of the Baltic states.

Six designs will be entered in the online vote and everybody from the Baltic states can take part, wherever they are in the world, as can anyone else who wants to.

The central banks of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania are inviting everyone to vote for their favourite design and enter in the prize draw at Voters can be entered in a prize draw with 100 prizes, and voting starts today and runs until midnight on 5 April.

After the voting finishes, 100 prize winners will be drawn from among those who took part. The prizes consist of three coin cards for the centenary two-euro coin, one each from Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania. The prizes will be given out after the coins are issued in early 2018.

Each person can vote only once. After choosing their favourite design, they must accept the terms and conditions of the competition. After voting, they will be sent an email to the address they have given and will need to click on the link in it to confirm their choice. Those wishing to enter the prize draw will need to fill in their contact details as well.

The central bank of each country put together a judging panel that selected two designs to be put forward for the online vote, meaning there are two Estonian designs, two Latvian designs and two Lithuanian designs in the competition. They are made anonymous for the voting, and the names of the designers, as also the names of 100 prize draw winners will be revealed when the winning design is announced on 11 April.

The rules for the competition can be found here.

The joint commemorative coin of the Baltic states is a coin with a special design that is valid for payments throughout the euro area. This is the first time that three countries have jointly designed and issued a euro coin with the same special design. The coins will have the same design on the national side but they are distinguished in circulation by the name of the issuing country – Estonia, Latvia or Lithuania.


Further information:

  • The three small Baltic states will be celebrating their centenaries in 2018: Lithuania on 16 February, Estonia on 24 February, and Latvia on 18 November. The central banks of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania will issue a specially designed two-euro commemorative coin into circulation in early 2018 to mark the anniversaries. The coins will be valid as legal tender throughout the euro area.
  • The small Baltic states have been constant in their defence of their independence, and within a short period 100 years ago, each one became a free and democratic country. Independence was regained again at the start of the 1990s. Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania have stood up for their shared values and have worked together to maintain their independence, freedom and sovereignty. The two-euro commemorative coin to be issued marks the shared history, values and efforts of the three countries and will act as a reminder of those values to the people of the rest of the euro area.
back to list